GT: Retrospective ADAC GT Masters 2007-2022

GT: Retrospective ADAC GT Masters 2007-2022

When the checkered flag dropped at Hockenheim on Sunday 23 October, we could have had no idea that the ADAC GT Masters concept could change after 16 years of existence. The merger with LMP3 Prototypes and GT3 Masters rightly met with so much opposition from the teams that have held the championship for many years. Neither the ACO nor the SRO were very impressed with the new DTM Endurance concept. Let’s look back in the history books.

Hockenheim 2007 Peter Kox leads the field in the very first ADAC GT Masters year. In 2010, the Eindhoven resident became champion.

Text and photos: Willem J. Staat

A look back ADAC GT Masters 2007-2022
There were always tensions between the DTM and the ADAC GT Masters. In total, ADAC GT Masters and DTM raced together four times. (2007, 2008, 2016 and 2017). After the second appearance at the Norisring in 2008, there was some anger between ADAC and ITR, but after eight years both parties found each other again with two brilliant events at the Lausitzring in 2016 and 2017. From this one could conclude that both parties badly needed each other. Especially in recent years, the ADAC GT Masters has clearly moved out of the shadow of the DTM. Gérard. The future will tell how the GT Masters continues. After the announcement of the DTM Endurance series, the teams from, among others, Montaplast by Land Motorsport, Car Collection and Emil Frey Racing began to stir. It is currently unclear how the ADAC GT Masters will continue.

2022 Kox Von Thurn und Taxisn

Peter Kox and Albert von Thurn und Taxis, now converted to rally.

The Dutchman
It is clear that a large number of Dutchmen have left their mark on the ADAC GT Masters over the past year. Eindhoven resident Peter Kox was in the early years of the ADAC GT Masters and won the title in 2010 together with Albert von Thurn und Taxis (now active in rallying) with a Reiter Engineering Lamborghini LP560 GT3. In the shadow of the DTM, this magnificent performance remained a bit underrated in the Dutch media. We can’t say anything else. In his active ADAC GT Masters years, Peter achieved no less than nine victories. The Dutch were good for home wins at Circuit Zandvoort.

2022 Vla Zandv 2
Together with Frenchman Kevin Estre, Jaap van Lagen (always referred to as Vla..) won at Zandvoort in 2014.

Jaap van Lagen achieved a great home victory during the Masters competition in 2014 together with GT specialist Kevin Estre.

2012 DB Motorsport
The Dutch have always done an excellent job at Zandvoort. A big win for Jeroen den Boer and Simon Knap in the DB Motorsport BMW Z4 GT3 in 2012.

Two years earlier, Jeroen den Boer (now active at BMW Motorsport for a living) and Simon Knap had delivered a feat in Dutch motorsport history at the second race at Zandvoort with their DB Motorsport BMW Z4 GT3 by taking a nice home win against the strong. competition.]

2022 Callaway Zandvoort
Renger van der Zande filled in for the injured Daniel Keilwitz in 2017. Despite the Dutchman’s Mercedes tyres, an immediate victory with the Callaway Corvette C7-R.

In 2017, Renger vd Zande replaced the injured Daniel Keilwitz at Callaway and together with Jules Gounon also achieved a brilliant victory at the CM.Com Circuit Zandvoort. Vd Zande also laid the foundations for the title that Gounon would win that season. In the early years of the ADAC GT Masters, both Christiaan Frankenhout and Alexander van der Lof achieved victory in the ADAC GT Masters. Before the Corona crisis, Indy Dontje was a constant factor in the ADAC GT Masters and in 2018 together with Maximilian Buhk (who put an end to his career after the 2022 season because there are other things in life) achieved a great victory at the Nurburgring.

2022 Bleeke Mølle Oschersleben 2015
A feat by Jeroen Bleekemolen and Luca Stolz at Oschersleben 2015. An immediate win with the brand new HTP Bentley GT3 Continental in the opening race.

Jeroen Bleekemolen also experienced big moments in the ADAC GT Masters with podium results and the team of HTP Motorsport and Tony Seiler. In 2013, there was an unexpected podium during the race at the Nürburgring with Swiss privateer Toni Sailer with a Corvette Z06 R GT3. In 2015 there was a wonderful victory for Jeroen in the opening race at Oschersleben, where he won the opening race together with Luca Stolz in the HTP Bentley Continental GT3. Other Dutchmen active in the ADAC GT Masters included Alexander van der Lof, who managed one win, Marius Ritskes, Wolf Nathan, Bas and Steijn Schothorst, Patrick Huisman and Xavier Maassen.

2020 Cox 2008
Massive crash by Peter Kox at Norisring 2008 after another Lamborghini driver suddenly lost his brakes

Memorable moments
Your editor experienced some memorable moments in the ADAC GT Masters, such as the start crash at Oschersleben in 2014, where fortunately no one was injured. Peter Kox also experienced a “hairy moment” at the Norisring in 2008 after a Lamborghini colleague from Grundig Kehre suddenly lost his brakes. Kox was able to leave his badly hit Lamborghini unscathed.

2022 Charlie Collard
Team Schnitzer’s very last win at home in 2017. Charly Lamm hugs winner Ricky Collard.

The BMW M6 GT3 was a beautiful but difficult car in GT3. Team Schnitzer moved its activities to the ADAC GT Masters in 2017 and 2018. Charly Lamm’s team took a brilliant victory in the opening race with the Ricky Collard/Philipp Eng combination in the second race. In retrospect, it turned out to be Team Schnitzer’s very last victory in the presence of Charly Lamm on German soil. Without realizing it at the time, it was a historic victory for the BMW Team Schnitzer family team.

2022 Saxony call 2018
Winning from a hopeless position. Elio Ehrhart and Pierre Kaffer did it anyway at Sachsenring 2018

The race at Sachsenring 2018 turned into a veritable destruction derby, with a number of “gentleman racers” previously serving as Formula Ford Festival drivers. It led to a gigantic chaos where a lot of damage was done. But it resulted in a historic but brilliant victory for the Elio Ehrhart/Pierre Kaffer combination in a TECE Audi R8 LMS GT3. Anyone who bet on this duo at the bookies that day must have made a fortune.

The ADAC GT Masters meant a good mix of professional/semi-professional and amateur drivers, always guaranteeing fun and spectacular action.

2022 Marciello Champion
Marciello the last champion under the current rules

ADAC GT Masters champions
2007 Christopher Haase Lamborghini Gallardo GT3 Reiter Engineering
2008 Tim Bergmeister Porsche 997 GT3 Cup Mühlner Motorsport
2009 Christian Abt Abt Sportsline Audi R8 LMS
2010 Peter Kox/Albert von Thurn and Taxis Reiter Lamborghini Gallardo LP560 GT3
2011 Dino Lundardi/Alexandros Maragaritis BMW Alpina B6 GT3
2012 Sebastian Asch/ Maximilian Götz KFZ Teile 24 MS Racing Mercedes Benz SLS AMG GT3
2013 Daniel Keilwitz/Diego Alessi Callaway Chevrolet Corvette Z06R GT3
2014 René Rast/Kelvin van der Linde Prosperia C.Abt Racing Audi R8 LMS GT3
2015 Sebastian Asch/Luca Ludwig Team Zakspeed Mercedes Benz SLS AMG GT3
2016 Conor de Phillippi/Christopher Mies Montaplast of Land Motorsport Audi R8 LMS GT 3
2017 Jules Gounon Callaway Corvette C7 GT3 R
2018 Mathieu Jaminet/Robert Renauer Precote Herbert Motorsport Porsche 911 GT3 R
2019 Patric Niederhauser/Kelvin van der Linde Rutronik Audi R8 LMS GT3
2020 Michael Ammermuller/Christian Engelhart SSR Performance Porsche 911 GT3 R
2021 Ricardo Feller/Christopher Mies Montaplast of Land Motorsport Audi R8 LMS GT3
2022 Raffaele Marciello Mann Filter Team Landgraf AMG Mercedes GT3 Evo

Leave a Comment