Selling or donating a PC or laptop? How to delete your data permanently – Checkout

Today

reading time 3 minutes

Before selling your PC or laptop on Marktplaats or donating it to a thrift store, make sure that no personal information remains on the computer. Simply the folder My documents Deleting and logging out of all your accounts is far from safe.

Computers and hardware are one at Marktplaats boom business. If you have a computer or laptop that you no longer use, you can consider selling it. You free up space in your home, earn some pocket money and extend the life of your computer. But before you do that, make sure the buyer can’t access all your photos, documents, passwords, and personal information. This is how you do it.

Return to factory settings

When you manually delete your files, it’s pretty easy to forget things. Such as saved passwords in your browsers or personal data in your trash. Or you forget certain folders with files. Restoring the computer to its factory settings is the safest option.

While that’s the more secure option, a determined hacker could theoretically find some data even after resetting your PC. The safest option is to completely remove the hard drive from your computer. If there is no hard drive, then a hacker has nothing to break into.

Factory settings for Windows

Before you start resetting your computer, make sure you have a backup of your files. You may have created usernames and passwords in a password manager attached to your computer. Then it is useful to have a copy of this.

Once you have a copy, here is the reset button for Windows 11:

  • Press the Windows button
  • choose Settings
  • choose System (System), and then press Recovery (recovery)
  • Then click Reset this PC (Reset this PC)

And for those using Windows 10:

  • Press the Windows button
  • Go to Settings
  • Then you press Updates and security
  • Go under the tab Recovery (Recovery) to Reset this PC

Factory settings for Mac

The steps to reset your Mac vary slightly depending on which processor is in your Mac. Some old MacBooks still have an Intel processor, while the majority have an M-series processor. To find out which one applies to you, click the Apple menu in the upper-left corner of the screen and go to “About This Mac.” Under the heading ‘Chip’ you can see which one you have.

Again, the first step is to back up your drive. Once you’ve done this, make sure you sign out of iCloud. Also, don’t forget to back up your keychain. Since the Mac’s Monterey update, it’s easier to reset it to factory settings:

  • Open the System Preferences app
  • In the upper left corner of the System Settings menu, click Delete all content and settings
    • If you don’t see this option, continue to the explanation for older Macs.
  • The delete wizard opens. Enter the administrator password to continue.
Old Mac for factory settings
  1. Go to the apple > top left Restart.
  2. Press Command + R while rebooting.
  3. Hold both keys until you see Recovery Mode.
  4. Log in with your administrator account if prompted.
Erase disk

The next step is to securely erase the drive. This works as follows:

  1. Open from the list of options Disk Utility.
  2. Select the desired drive in the left column (usually at the top) and click Delete at the top of the menu.
  3. You can use ‘Macintosh HD’ as the name and choose APFS as the format.
  4. click on Delete or Clear volume group. Enter your Apple ID and password if prompted.
  5. Wait for the disk to be erased and close Disk Utility.
reinstall macOS

And now the last part. Once the drive is erased, reinstall macOS with these steps:

  1. click on Reinstall macOS > Continue.
  2. Select a startup disk (usually “Macintosh HD”) and click Install.
  3. Once the installation is complete, restart your MacBook.
  4. Wait for your MacBook to restart.

Chromebook manual

Chromebook users have it easier when it comes to hard reset. Most of their files are already stored in Google Drive. Start by logging out to reset it. Then press Ctrl + Alt + Shift + R and click Restarting. Then tap on Power wash and you are done. Please note that the account you log into for the first time afterwards will become the owner account.

Source: Acer/Campusshop.nl/iCulture

Leave a Comment